NC Council on Developmental Disabilities FINAL

Executive Committee Minutes

Date: November 7, 2023 Time: 10:00AM – 12:00PM

Members Present: Bryan Dooley (Chair), Tony Hall, Aldea LaParr, Charlrean Mapson, D. Min., Marjorie Serralles-Russell, Nessie Siler, Donna Spears

Members Absent: Ryan Rotundo

Staff Present: Pam Dempsey, Cora Gibson, Chris Hendricks, David Ingram, Irlanda Ruiz, La'Quadia Smith, Melissa Swartz, Talley Wells, Shar'ron Williams, Philip Woodward, Letha Young

Guests/Council members Present: Jon D'Angelo, Bethany Smith, Lily Gullion, Pablo Puente

I. Call to Order

Bryan Dooley called the meeting to order and welcomed the inperson members as well as the members calling in.

II. Approval of Minutes

MOTION: Marjorie Serralles-Russell made a motion to approve the draft minutes for the October 16, 2023, Executive Committee meeting.

Donna Spears seconded the motion. The motion was approved by unanimous vote.

III. Council Membership – VOTE

NEW MEMBER MOTION: Donna Spears made a motion for: NCCDD to recommend to NC Boards and Commissions that Gabi Angelini (Slot) and RV Kuser (Slot) are appointed to serve on the Council. Discussion ensued, requesting more information on the remaining applications for the Council. Donna requested the motion be taken down.

Marjorie Serralles-Russell made a motion for:

NCCDD to recommend to NC Boards and Commissions that [Dr. Madhav Swaminathan (Slot 2: Council Member # 32)] and [RV Kuser(Slot 1: Council Member #16)] are appointed to serve on the Council.

Slot 1: Individuals with DD (16)

Slot 2: Individuals with DD and parents or immediate relatives/guardians of an individual with DD (32)

Nessie Siler seconded the motion. The motion was approved by unanimous vote.

MOTION: Marjorie Serralles-Russell made a motion for the following candidates to be considered for NCCDD membership: Dr. M & RV.

Nessie Siler seconded the motion. The motion was approved by unanimous vote.

IV. Committee Leadership - VOTE

MOTION:

The 2024 NCCDD standing committee chairs; Tony Hall for Financial Asset Development, Charlrean Mapson for Community Living, and Marjorie Serralles-Russell for the Public Policy Education Committee. The Executive Committee recommends discussion with the Full Council on the Committee Chair for the Advocacy Development Committee.

Dr. Charlrean Mapson seconded the motion. The motion was approved by unanimous vote.

V. Conference Funding Request (1) – VOTE

CONFERENCE FUNDING MOTION: Donna Spears made a motion to approve the Conference Funding request from the North Carolina Down Syndrome Alliance in the amount of up to \$3,000 for Speaker's Fees and Travel for the 2024 North Carolina Down

Syndrome Conference to be held April 27, 2024 at Alamance Community College in Graham, NC.

Tony Hall seconded the motion. The motion was approved by unanimous vote.

Conference Funding Request (2) - VOTE

CONFERENCE FUNDING MOTION: Marjorie Serralles-Russell made a motion to approve the Conference Funding request from HOPE NC in the amount of up to \$1,443.80 for Speaker's Fees and Travel for the HOPE's 2nd Annual Inclusive Housing Summit held November 13, 2023 at the McKimmon Conference and Training Center at NC State University in Raleigh, NC.

Donna Spears seconded the motion. The motion was denied by unanimous vote.

Aldea LaParr made a motion to deny the Conference Funding request from HOPE NC in the amount of up to \$1,443.80 for Speaker's Fees and Travel for the HOPE's 2nd Annual Inclusive Housing Summit held November 13, 2023 at the McKimmon Conference and Training Center at NC State University in Raleigh, NC. Discussion ensued delineating that discussion with NCCDD's National Technical Assistance Center recommended that HOPE NC's Executive Director's relationship with NCCDD's Executive Director, and some members of the Executive Committee suggest that it has the appearance of a potential conflict of interest.

Nessie Siler seconded the motion. The motion was approved by majority vote.

VI. Adjourn

MOTION: Donna Spears made a motion to adjourn the Executive Committee meeting. Nessie Siler seconded the motion. The motion was approved by unanimous vote.

Bryan Dooley adjourned the meeting at 11:54AM.